Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Good Laptop with excellent performance and ratingJanuary 31, 2013
by JEAROM9416 from Cartago, Costa Rica
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
The Toshiba Satellite S855-S5369 Laptop, is one of the best basic computers that I used, some computer characteristics have excellent ratings; the third generation processor Core i5 with the Graphics Intel HD 4000 that results one of the better that I have seen. But the computer could be better with a graphic card like Nvidia GeForce 650M, but with the known characteristics is one of the best.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?  

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent LaptopMarch 5, 2013
by EPerez from Bogota,Colombia
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Good performance, very good image quality of the screen, good battery life, good storage and reasonable price - quality.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great computerMarch 18, 2013
by Steve
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Great computer for the money, This is my second Toshiba and they both work great.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent LaptopMarch 20, 2013
by TCB from Corcoran, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Performs well, startup is fast, and is easy to use, -would purchase another one.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
happyMarch 17, 2013
by nikki from charlotte nc
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
the laptop is great I stay on it all day if I could but other then I love it
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Toshiba SatelliteMay 9, 2013
by Maverick from Enterprise, AL.
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I am really enjoying this laptop. I did have a HP that had problems after just a few months. Finally got rid of it after it developed " thermal heat" issues. These started after it went out of warrant by 6 months. Think we will stick with Toshiba. My wife's laptop is a Toshiba and is right at 6 years old and still running well.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent Laptop!July 3, 2013
by Back2Basics from Bloomington, IN
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This is an excellent laptop! It is sturdy, it comes with plenty of memory, and it runs efficiently. The only negative at all is the Windows 8 operating system but hopefully Windows 8.1 will solve most of those issues. By the way, if you use Windows 8 you won't need to buy a third-party virus protection, it's all built in now.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great LaptopAugust 24, 2013
by Shooter from Louisiana
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I got this one after returned the HP with the A10 AMD processor due to some issues. I'm glad I did. I really love this laptop and the Intel i5 chip performs really fast and my videos play without any problems too. I also like the keyboard touch better but do wish it was backlit for use in low light situations. This is my second Toshiba and they perform excellent in my opinion.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great laptopJuly 21, 2013
by Nicky lane from Lafayette la
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Good laptop right price
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Love my LaptopJune 11, 2013
by Max from Lakeside, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I enyou the keyboard on the right. It makes working with numbers easier. Love the graphics and colors.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Love my LaptopApril 8, 2013
by B J from Mentone CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I enjoying my new laptop. It is easy to use and has a great screen life
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Nice Laptop!March 15, 2013
by Shorty from Akron, NY
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I really do love my laptop. I use it every day. I haven't had any problems with it. Love the freedom of being able to use it with Wi-Fi.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Perfect laptopMarch 29, 2013
by hennymaster
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Everything is cool except the short battery life...I liked the design and the performance of the laptop. The one thing that is interesting is that the laptop is light weight somehow,I mean like I had another old Toshiba satellite laptop and it's kind heavy but this one is not. Windows 8 is the most boring feature I discovered but I was happy the moment I found out that I was able to bring the start menu back. The Corei5 processor is fast. The other flow is that the sound quality is not premium and the volume is very low(@100volume I can't hear as I thought I would. Generally the laptop is nice and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in budget laptop with premium features.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Excellent Laptop for the PriceApril 3, 2013
by George from Wethersfield Connecticut
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I love this laptop. Just a couple of things are annoying. The keyboard directional keys and delete key could be better positioned or larger. I use them a lot and often miss the key, hitting one adjacent to it, like the "0" key or the "home" key. Also, I use the scroll bars often. They could be wider and there should be some way to turn off the pesky pop-ups that display when moving the cursor to the edge of the screen.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good Laptop, Great PriceApril 7, 2013
by wolfelaire from Lake Charles, LA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This is a great laptop.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
DVD IssuesSeptember 2, 2013
by Spike from Calabash, NC
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Overall this and my previous Satellite are fantastic laptops. The issue I have with both is the optical drive. It will only recognize the about 50% of the dvd's I try to watch. Audio CD's are no problem. I had to buy an external USB dvd reader just in case the dvd I want to watch can't be read by the on board dvd player.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
good customer serviceAugust 26, 2013
by sidehack from Washington
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
My laptop had a problem that was promptly taken care of ...... Repairs were quick & fast turnaround. On the low score side the key board is VERY FLIMSY and takes some getting use to & F keys color code is in reverse.....
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Better than my last laptopJuly 31, 2013
by Jay Tee from Indian Wells, AZ
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
The performance is better than I expected, it boots up quickly and the price I paid for is will worth it.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Decent LaptopApril 20, 2013
by ITuser from tampa, fl
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Backlit keys would be a major plus and a larger hard drive.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Some times is not the bestMarch 29, 2013
by arasan from Chula Vista
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I do have some issues with the internet "freezing". I am still trying to see if it is my connection or this laptop. Other in the house do not have this problem.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
My Old Toshiba Was The BestMarch 18, 2013
by Eleebee from Central Ohio
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
After 6+ years of rugged use, my Toshiba Sattelite A305 quietly died after putting up quite a struggle. I immediately sought out a new Satellite. I found a good deal at the local office supply store and thought I had dodged a bullet. The old Satellite was my life. I was able to transfer my files and was feeling pretty good about the loss of a trusted friend. Then, reality sunk in. First, the new unit was defective and was replaced. Then, I realized that the operation is different from my old friend. I suppose that I will get used to it. The battery life is better. The ergonomics are a trade off.....I don't like the keyboard......I do like the operating speed.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good, solid laptopMarch 18, 2013
by BB from SLC, UT
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I bought an HP and returned it because it was awful. The IT person at the store recommended this Toshiba. It is so much better. It's a little heavy, so I wouldn't recommend it if you need to carry it around a lot, otherwise, it's great - fast, responsive and few glitches.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
My ReviewMarch 23, 2013
by Anointed1 from Peoria, IL
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I am very satisfied with the laptop, this is my first and I am enjoying using it.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
UnderwhelmingMarch 27, 2013
by Ray
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
The keyboard isn't the easiest to use primarily because the keys take a lot of pressure to use. Further this computer has a design flaw seen in many laptops, notably that the keyboard and mouse pad do not consistently function at the same time. Windows 8 does not appear to be of any improvement. Lastly, I was anticipating that it would be a substantial improvement, performance wise, on my previous laptop based off of the specs, in reality it is probably just a little bit slower.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Worst laptop ever!July 7, 2013
by Jay Smith from Winston salem NC
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
This is the worst laptop ever! runs slow, hard to navigate,unexpected shutdowns, and the list goes on and on and on!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Less than sterling performanceMay 10, 2013
by Unhappy camper from Indianapolis IN
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I bought a Satellite S855-S5369 as an emergency replacement for a 4+ year old Vaio that would not install Turbo-Tax. I was initially impressed with the Satellite's speed, both in loading programs and in booting. After two weeks I began to get low memory warnings (this is allegedly a 6gb memory machine), and then not just warnings, but extremely erratic behavior and unexpected freezing or shutdown. Starting Task Manager and adding up the actual memory being used by each program running, and dividing that by the percentage of memory shown to be in use, showed that only 25% of memory was being accessed. However, after two days of this behavior (during which I was on the road and could not refer to any repair facility), the problem seems to have resolved itself. I have little confidence that it will not return. The keyboard rattles when I type, especially at the right end. This makes me fear that vibration is going to have a deleterious effect on the machine sooner or later. The computer also flexes distressingly when I handle it, such as when picking it up by one end to move it from desk to carrying case. I am not at all pleased with Windows 8. It is a lot harder to navigate in Windows Explorer that Vista was, and some functions available in Vista (such as the ability to move images around in a folder to compose a slide show) cannot be accomplished in W8 - when you try to drag a file to a different place in the folder, it does not budge. The only way to move it is to rename it and let the indexer place it in a new location - VERY cumbersome, not at all convenient. So far I am not impressed by either the hardware nor the software I was forced to move to.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
WAY BETTER THEN ANY HPJune 28, 2013
by Flooring people with our workmanship from Lehigh county PA
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Would buy a Toshiba over a free HP any day and twice on Sunday
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst laptop everJanuary 28, 2013
by HP LOVER from LOS ANGELES,CA
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
The laptop takes about 3 hours to charge and it only last about 2 hours. Everything is bad on this computer. The I core 5 is really slow it takes a long time to write anything.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Had very bad luck with ToshibasJuly 14, 2013
by Gra from Chattanooga, tn
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Had a Toshiba for just a little over 2 years and it couldn't be fixed. Bought 2 more and didn't even have them for two weeks till something happened to them. I now own another brand LapTop
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
June 26, 2013
by sa from St. Louis
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Not a good experience with this keyboard---extremely awkward with the numbers on the side. The keyboard might work with people with tiny, tiny hands but not those with aveage hand size.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
I hate Windows 8!April 5, 2013
by Elaine from Dunedin, FL
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I gave my new Toshiba Laptop to my grandson who needed it for college. I hate Windows 8! You need to complain to Microsoft and explain to them they are turning those of us with money to spend into "Apple" consumers!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba Satellite S855-S5369 Laptop
Averages based on 31 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 3.8 out of 5
Features: 3.7 out of 5
Performance: 3.9 out of 5
Battery Life: 4.1 out of 5
Price–Value: 3.8 out of 5
24 of 31 (77%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.