Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Very Nice LaptopMarch 3, 2013
by Mort from Frewsburg, NY
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I like everything about it.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Nice laptop; fast and easy to use.March 6, 2013
by runner from Clinton, TN
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Excellent processor, plenty of memory. Great value for the price.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
User Friendly LaptopMarch 10, 2013
by Grandma from Chandler, AZ
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
The ease of use of the keys and other features makes this user friendly. Toshiba created an excellent product in the Satellite S5377. The keys are a great feature. I also do not hit the "mouse pad" that often when typing. I love my new Toshiba. I highly recommend to anyone looking for a laptop with enough ram and ease of use of the keyboard.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Love my Toshiba- hate windows 8May 5, 2013
by garden girl from New London
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I went back to a Toshiba- my third, having settled for another brand between this and my last purchase. It is a great machine- the only thing that would make it better would be to "upgrade" to Windows 7.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Good LaptopMay 17, 2013
by greens412 from Minneapolis, MN
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Lightweight Easy to read Hard to adjust to new screen layout
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
it is goodMarch 19, 2013
by janie from Vickurg Mississippi
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Please put back the lighted keyboard
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great LaptopApril 10, 2013
by Abby from Houston, Texas
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
It's battery life is fine. It's actually not hard to learn to manipulate Windows 8.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Keyboard should be revamped!February 18, 2013
by Elicarte from NM
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
It is always hard to switch from one brand and one computer that you were extremely proficient with to another. In this case, I went from an ASUS to a Toshiba. The key thing I dislike about the Toshiba is the keyboard. The keys are just slightly too far apart and do not depress down enough so that someone who is extremely proficient at keyboarding (90 wpm with 2% error ratio). I am perennially going back and fixing letters that I wanted to be capitalized, but did not capitalize. Frustrating and annoying. The most frustrating aspect of this new computer isn't Toshiba itself, it is Windows 8. This OS would be much easier with a touchscreen, although for the way I use a computer touchscreen wouldn't be useful! It isn't a handheld devise. It isn't a tablet. I do a lot of data centric computing. The Windows 8 OS obviously has impacted how I feel about working using this computer. Windows 8 needs an overhaul! The second thing I notice a significantly lower quality screen resolution than my ASUS had. I can't harp too much though, as the Toshiba was also significantly cheaper. I miss the crisp bright easy to read imagery though. Other than the keyboard and the image resolution, I am happy enough with Toshiba. The screen size is nice. The computer doesn't way too much which makes it easier for portability.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good MachineMarch 7, 2013
by chuck from Mason MI
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Computer is fine. Too much software that I am not interested in comes up on the Start menu
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good but touchscreen betterApril 11, 2013
by Oldtimer from Nebraska
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
After having used Windows 8 which comes on this computer, I would get the touchscreen model. This model seems to work ok. It seems that having power and memory doesn't mean more speed when using windows 8. My 3 yr. old Acer with Windows 7, 6 gig memory, and I3 processor seemed to be as fast as this computer and the I 5 for browsing and downloading simultaneous videos.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Bad StartMay 13, 2013
by Marg from Tampa, Fl
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This was the 3rd computer. The 1st had file missing and was sold as new, but was used. Not the sellers fault., all came sealed. The second computer crashed hard drive when windows8 update. The 3rd has worked fine. Really dislike the Windows8. Make the computer too slow because of all the things running, which I turned most off. Not happy with the Intel Graphic, but for the price, it will have to do. I also own a tablet which I love.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
So far, so goodJuly 15, 2013
by RobbieOH from Canton, OH
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This is the first laptop I have bought for myself in over 12 years. I did a lot of research before purchase and for my needs, I was pleased with the specs on this one. I needed something less than a total power user and above the average user. This laptop fit the bill. I've had great experience with Toshiba laptops in the past and this one is no exception, In particular their batteries have been very reliable for the long term use I put a laptop through. Having said that, I have only had this laptop a little over a month, and haven't used it much. In that time, I have had two issues. The driver for the mouse pad on the laptop has required several re-installs to get it to work right. The way Windows 8 works, this is a problem but hopefully it is fixed. There was a problem creating the restore DVDs and I had to swap out the first one for a second one. My last Toshiba had a really solid lid/top, but this one seems a bit flexible in a way that feels cheaper and less solid.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good valueApril 9, 2013
by Leviathon from Longview, WA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
15.6" display is OK, but this comes without some of the separate keys that come with a 17.3" display, such as the home, end, page up and down keys, and the function keys. Performance doesn't seem much better than my old PC. It hangs up often, mostly when running File Explorer, but I think this is related to Windows 8. I contacted Toshiba but they were unable to resolve the problem. Overall I'm satisfied but I expect lots of folks would be disappointed.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Windows 8 is DreadfulApril 14, 2013
by SafeDman from Middletown, Oh
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought the Toshiba laptop as a replacement for my Acer 5315 laptop that crashed and burned. I used it for a week then, returned it. Windows 8 is dreadful to use. I will never buy any PC or laptop with Windows 8 on it. I also have a Toshiba C655-S5512 with Windows 7, it runs beautifully. BTW... I rebuilt the Acer and it has Windows 7 too.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?  
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba Satellite S855-S5377N Laptop
Averages based on 14 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 4.3 out of 5
Features: 4.4 out of 5
Performance: 4.4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4.1 out of 5
Price–Value: 4.3 out of 5
13 of 14 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.