Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Beautiful laptop, battery everSeptember 23, 2008
by Rotocaju from Venezuela
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Needs a better battery.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
awsome laptop!!!!!!March 7, 2009
by cocowboy75 from denver co
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
battery life can be short if you dont fully charge this computer is amazing wi fi is awsome great job guy's!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
AwesomnessAugust 19, 2008
by Mookie from San DIego, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Hello, I figured I'll write a reviewn since no one has yet, and also because this laptop is Wonderful. I have not used to alot since it is bought for school, but so far it works wonderfully. The start up is kind of slow, but I think it's because it's Window Vista, so toshiba should not be blamed for that. The webcam is cleaerer, even compared to my sister's Sony VAIO webcam, but note that the more light there is it becomes for clearer. There are a bunch of BLOATWARE and such, so I deleted them xP Hmmm... The battery lasts around 2 hours in the power saver performance. I would totally recommend this to anyone, it's not really that heavy =)
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good LaptopMarch 6, 2009
by Alawa from NY
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
HI, for all of you having problems with the batter life, well i had the same problem, till i called Toshiba and they told me to download the new Bios, which now give me 2.30hr battery life. The laptop looks magnificent
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
great for the priceNovember 23, 2009
by jfish from CT
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
very nice laptop. works wonderfully. only had one problem with the fan. Toshiba fixed it without question. i love this laptop the graphics are strong for the price
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Worst Battery Life EverAugust 26, 2008
by Gus from San Antonio, Texas
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
only 2 hrs on energy saver mode!!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Totally UNEXCEPTABLE Battery LifeSeptember 9, 2008
by End User from Houston, Texas
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
As a Sr. Eng. I live on a lap top. and this was to be my back-up unit. I receive only 1.125 Hrs. battery life on saver mode. This is a terrible error in a Hot set of features. For a Sports Car type of system there isn't any horse power. Fix it. The system should be built around a 7200mAh power source.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
good spec-but seriously flawedSeptember 6, 2009
by duped from Honolulu, HI
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
With the feature to price comparison this is a superb machine. However, either there is a serious flaw in the design or I must have received a lemon. My problem started with flickering screen. The machine was spewing hot air from the left side ventilator and the battery life was typically no more than an hour. After few months the flickering was so bad and disruptive that I had to take the laptop to the local Toshiba repair center. They replaced the motherboard, video connectors and the battery. After this repair, the flickering is gone but the overheating and the short battery life (even with the replaced new battery) is still a problem. The CPU temp routinely reaches 90 degree Celsius (not Fahrenheit). I could have deployed the laptop for good use if I were in North Pole, but unfortunately I live in the island paradise and there is no need for a heater here. I have used quite a number of laptops/desktops over the years and the worst experience I have to date is with this machine.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Customer Rating Summary
Satellite M305D-S4831
Averages based on 8 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Features: 4.5 out of 5
Performance: 4.1 out of 5
Battery Life: 2.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4.4 out of 5
5 of 8 (62%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.