Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
4th Toshiba Notebook so farAugust 15, 2009
by hwndog
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I had Toshiba's first laptop and never changed brand since. Reliability, features, good pricing--the list goes on.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
First time Laptop OwnerAugust 15, 2009
by Bobby from Tuscaloosa ,Al
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is a great Laptop.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Toshibas are the best laptops!August 18, 2009
by karynlls from Hillsboro, Oregon
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is my second Toshiba laptop and this time I actually bought two of them, one for my husband as well. They have improved the battery situation drastically since I purchased my previous one five years ago, this new computer never gets hot. It's fast, lots of memory, offers lots of help when you need it and looks great too! It is easy to use and plug in ready. You can play games or create documents quickly. It offers the best restore system I have ever seen. It is far better than the HP or Dell's that I have owned in the past! I can't begin to tell all the good points about it in this limited space but I will stick with Toshiba Laptops from now on.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Product reputation.August 15, 2009
by amri from Seguin, Texas
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
We have been long users of Toshiba. This is our second laptop. The first was bought for my daughter. She's had it for two years, she is a senior in high school and is planning to take her laptop to college. She loves and relies on this product,
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
great productAugust 19, 2009
by J
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
great product at a great price
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
The very Best Laptop Ever!!! I Love Toshiba!September 1, 2009
by KarleyRose from Hillsboro, Oregon
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is my third Toshiba Computer and I highly recommend them to anyone considering a computer purchase. VERY reliable. Excellent recovery capabilities even for beginners. Great Graphics, online manuals, help readily available. I can't say enough!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great laptopSeptember 24, 2009
by Big D from Irvine, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
The laptop is fast starting and runs large spreadsheets with graphics. No waiting for the processor to catch up with the keyboard or data input speed. Transferring data is very fast. Lots of nice features, the built-in camera has very good resolution and the speed on a high speed internet connection provides good video and audio quality. The unit is relative light weight for the battery life available. The display quality is very good and clear. Plenty of USB and other accessory ports for external devices. Purchased the laptop instead of a 10" netbook because of the enhanced capabilities.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
September 24, 2009
by Bob from Coral Springs ,FL
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
After much consideration, I decided to purchase a laptop for mostly personal use. Having recently retired and planning to spend more time traveling, I wanted to purchase a second computer that would provide the speed, memory and portability that would make our lives easier. Of course, having a solid corporte name and reputation was the reason we targeted our search toward a Toshiba product. So far, we have not been dissappointed. Thanks for making such a fine product.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
It's more than expectedSeptember 24, 2009
by Lou from Memphis, TN.
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This is my second toshiba laptop and I am sure if I buy another it will be a toshiba. My first toshiba was purchased in 1995 and it still works as good as the day I purchased it. Just not enough room for todays programs. Even the battery is still good for about 2 hours.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great Laptop!September 25, 2009
by Ellie from Philadelphia, PA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought my Toshiba after my Dell broke. It was cheaper, lighter in weight, and much faster. I love it so much because its performance is just amazing! The only con is it's not all the cute looking. I would definitely recommend this to others!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Mouse PadSeptember 25, 2009
by joe from Bloomfield, IN
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I don't like the mouse feature of opening a file by just stopping the pointer over that file. Two many times I have opened email files by just stopping on the file, and before I can determine if it might be a file I don't want to open. If not for this feature you would have 5 stars for all except for battery life.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Very Nice Laptop for the Money!September 25, 2009
by Ron from Canton, Michigan
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is one great laptop for the money. Its fast, feature rich and stylish. The keyboard is large and perfectly placed for my use. This laptop easily handles my memory intensive Adobe apps without a delay! That impresses me!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great Value!September 24, 2009
by Frugal from Schaumburg, IL
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Includes most popular features such as wifi, web cam, microphone, UBS ports etc. Machine also includes 'label flash' technology which apparently marks labels on CD while in the D: drive. Nice to have media buttons (play, skip back/fwd, mute). Full number pad. Start up and shutdown are very smooth. Performs at a great speed for the price. Good speakers. Could pack a little more power. When the volume is at about 60 the sound begins to get distorted. But overall decent sound quality for the price. Battery lasts every bit of 2+ hours. Proper battery management should extend the shelf life of the battery. In other words, unless battery is charging, never plug up the adapter while the battery is attached to the machine. In my opinion, this machine could definitely replace a desktop. That being said, it is slightly bigger/heavier than the average laptop. A proper carry case/backpack is necessary. Also, it may be worth investing in a cooling pad/plate for this machine given it's size and power. A cooling plate is desirable for most machines but especially for bigger ones with a little more power such as this machine. If you decide to purchase this laptop you will see what I mean when you hear the cooling fan frequently running (which by the way is relatively quiet). Overall a great value!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Extremely HappySeptember 24, 2009
by law from Paramus, NJ 07652
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
So far, I love this laptop. My previous laptop was a Gateway. This is much faster, really happy.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great PurchaseSeptember 24, 2009
by mom from Louisiana
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is my first laptop and I love it. I have no complaints.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Love this laptopSeptember 24, 2009
by Realtor from Durham, NC
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I have always owned a desktop, and this is the first laptop I have purchased myself. (I had 2 other hand-me-downs). I work with a lot of numbers and absolutely love the number pad on this laptop; in fact, it was one of the primary reasons I chose this one. I have been very satisfied with the performance and would definitely recommend it to others.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great LaptopSeptember 24, 2009
by Riley from Vancouver, Wa
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I've only had my new laptop for about a month, but so far I love it.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
joy to ownSeptember 24, 2009
by dee from omaha ne
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
i always wanted a laptop this is easy to use easy to learn with instruction given on line
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great laptopOctober 14, 2009
by Compuser from Ramsey, MN
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I use this laptop every day for computer aided design (Solidworks) and it works perfectly. Absolutely no issues except a medium-low battery life. All in all, a great computer.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
First new laptop in six-plus years!October 13, 2009
by Judi from New Orleans, LA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I am really enjoying my new Toshiba. It replaced another Toshiba I have had for over six years so I was confident when I got it, that I was getting a good product. This machine has so much more memory and speed; I feel like a wizard! At times the mouse pad is a little iffy, but never for long.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great productOctober 4, 2009
by ROB from NORWALK, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Bought the laptop for my daughter for school overall very pleased.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
GiftSeptember 29, 2009
by Eve from New Orleans, La.
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I am in my late sixties and my son gave me this laptop as a gift. It is opening up a vast amount of knowledge to me. I can read the lastest news and communicate with my friends better. It has any medical information that I need and I can look up and feel more comfortably taking my prescriptions.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Love my Laptop!!!!September 29, 2009
by triquetra from San Antonio, TX
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I checked out a lot of laptops when I decided to buy one. I went with the Toshiba because it had what I needed. Plenty of ram and harddrive space at a very good price. I used it straight out of the box and its fabulous. It's easy to use. The battery life could be longer but most of the time I have it plugged in anyway. I wish it had come with MS Word but that was an easy fix. I had Wordperfect and installed it on my laptop. Overall it's a great laptop.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great laptopSeptember 28, 2009
by ognam from Valencia, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Great keyboard, Great Graphics, great overall package. It was an impulse buy I did not do a lot of research, but I liked the wide screen display, laptop weight, and keyboard color (silver) better than the others displayed at the store.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great ValueSeptember 28, 2009
by C. E. from Dallas, TX
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
The Satellite L505-S6959 has proven to be a great value for my use. The price was excellent and the features are all that I need. It is fast, reliable, and the screen clarity is very satisfactory.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Classy machine!September 27, 2009
by Cal from Pittsburgh< PA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought this laptop to run music applications for a church music program, and am still in the process of installing my software, but the speed of prcessing and the clarity of the display bode well for an excellent experience. Besides, the unit looks beautiful and feels good under the fingers.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
September 26, 2009
by Wi-BrewerGrl
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
this laptop is really easy to use. i pretty much took it out of the box and followed the steps and was on the internet in no time. anyone can use this laptop.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Good LaptopSeptember 25, 2009
by knetwork from Conway, AR
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I love this machine! It does everything I need it to and then some. I can't wait to see what it can do with Windows 7!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great laptop at a great priceSeptember 25, 2009
by cb from Alta Loma, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is a great laptop- great performance and at a great price.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
First Laptop (GREAT VALUE)September 25, 2009
by Boots from Cantonment FL.
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is my first and has all the features I was lookig for at a great price
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Happy So FarSeptember 25, 2009
by Bill
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I've been using this laptop for a couple of months, and I am happy with it so far. I dual boot Vista and Ubuntu 9.04 x64 and both run very well. The only complaint I have is that the webcam picture quality isn't that good. I rarely use it, so it's not much of an issue for me.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Best value laptopSeptember 25, 2009
by DaddyMc from Knoxville, TN
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought this laptop to replace an eight year old Dell desktop. I spent some time researching and comparing best value laptop features among several computer manufacturers. I an completely satisfied with the purchase. I have absolutely no complaints and would recommend this laptop to anyone.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Carolyn's ComputerSeptember 25, 2009
by peach62nd from Fair Oaks, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I love my laptop
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
New laptopSeptember 24, 2009
by Chuck
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
this is a well equipped laptop for an excellent price. this is my second Toshiba laptop and I have had an excellent experience.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
My second toshibaSeptember 24, 2009
by Worker from Aspen, CO
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Great computer at an a great price.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Very impressiveSeptember 24, 2009
by Jpie from Kelso, WA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Very happy with my purchase. We shopped and discovered Toshiba to have the highest customer satisfaction reviews. I agree it is a nice unit,
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent LaptopAugust 28, 2009
by valcali from Maryland
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is my 2nd Toshiba, the 1st still works great but I needed a larger one for graphics work. It's fast and doesn't lock up when I'm working with large music/graphics files or have multiple programs and the browser open. A nice dependable machine for a reasonable price.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Toshiba L505July 17, 2009
by Vern from Avon Park, FL
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Overall. I have been pleased with my L505-s6959. Coming from the Commadore 64, computing has come a long ways. The only reason that I didn't rate any 5 stars has to do with Vista operating system. My first and thankfully my last
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
First laptop everJuly 21, 2009
by no nickname
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Very good product. Portability for travel,does everything I want to do. Only complaint is that the mouse pad is to sensitive.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good ValueAugust 14, 2009
by PAPA from Illinois
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
good color and easy to use. Speakers and sound not the best, but other than that, good machine
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Very NiceAugust 15, 2009
by Someone
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
The battery life is okay, but I like the screen size and the performance is pretty good.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
ok but sound is way too lowJanuary 26, 2010
by j from bloomington
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I have to have the volume up to 100% just to hear it. If someone is in the room talking or if there is any moderate level of noise (fan), I can not hear the laptop. After googling my complaint I see a lot of others are having the same problem with L505s. If you don't listen to music or watch tv, you might love this comp, but using this for media purposes it's disappointing.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good for the Money!October 16, 2009
by Bogs from Manchester, CT
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I am still getting used to my new computer so it is difficult to give an extensive review. A couple of items I found disappointing was the picture quality I was sending when using Skype and the batteries didn't seem to last long.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
September 29, 2009
by Rick from Portland, OR
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Very good computer. Only concern is Toshiba reputation for running hot.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
my toshiba laptopSeptember 27, 2009
by prime from sta. fe, tx
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I like my laptop in the sense it's portable and speed. The size is just right.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Pros and ConsSeptember 26, 2009
by Andy from Hollywood, FL
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Overall I find the L505-S6959 to be an excellent machine. A longer battery life would be useful, but I usually use it plugged in. The only poor feature I have discovered is your sound system. Without powered external speakers, it is almost useless.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Above Average CapabilitySeptember 25, 2009
by sharpbill from Atlanta, GA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This is the third Toshiba Laptop I have owned and used extensively, because I found them to be very reliable and durable with excellent features. This L505-S6959 has performed well with excellent system resources and pre-installed software. The onboard features are good, but the absence of an expected (advertised) HDMI port was disappointing. Nevertheless, I would certainly recommend this model for business and/or personal use for those who need/want above average capability.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Check Software Up datesSeptember 25, 2009
by akeagle from E. Bremerton WA 98310
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Had To download Two Software, to get the webcam and the dvd movie maker going.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great Laptop.....September 25, 2009
by Pay Day from Santee, Ca.
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This is a great laptop for the money. Fast speeds, huge memory and upgradable. The only problem is that the speaker system is weak, you will need externals if you play music.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
SatisfiedSeptember 25, 2009
by Hunter from Ramsey, MN
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Once I got the laptop up and running, registered, and loaded, I was very satisfied with the purchase.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good - solid laptopSeptember 25, 2009
by Sid from NJ
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Very good laptop.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Excellent buySeptember 25, 2009
by Val from Mission, KS
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This is the second Satellite for me and I absolutely trust it and Toshiba to keep me working properly. My first Toshiba Satellite was bought in 2001 and the support was always there.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Mouse PadSeptember 25, 2009
by Mac
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
The mouse seems to jump around the screen for no apparent reason and there is an automatic scrolling of the screening for no reason. Otherwise the computer is pretty good.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Valuable laptopSeptember 25, 2009
by JV from Miami FL
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Laptop is excellent, very good features and performance. However I do not see S-Video port. Overall excellent laptop
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
AverageSeptember 25, 2009
by AK
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I really like my laptop. But it was a little more on the pricy side and it really doesn't have anything that makes it standout to justify it.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great laptopSeptember 25, 2009
by Mary
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Great laptop for multitasking!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Satellite L505-S6959September 24, 2009
by pamoky5 from Dardenne Prairie, MO
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is my first Laptop, I like the fact that it has a built in webcam and I especially like the built in number pad. The cons: The battery does not last very long, I find myself using the power cord most of the time. When I rest my left hand near the touch pad while typing it will make pages pop up or minimize without my input (very sensitive) you have to be careful where you rest your hand.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Excellent valueSeptember 24, 2009
by Chris from Edison, NJ
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
The laptop is a real joy to use. Very solid and extremely dependable. Solid battery life and the screen resolution is great. Light weight and powerful and excellent value. No complaints from this user.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great keyboard!September 24, 2009
by busybot from Memphis, TN
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
The keys are comfortable and the feature with the numbers on the side is what sold me on this laptop. Speed and battery are good, however the quality on the web cam is poor.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good LaptopSeptember 24, 2009
by Rosebud from Melbourne, FL
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I am a little disappointed in the speaker quality and sound.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good LaptopSeptember 24, 2009
by Ed from Mississauga,Ontario
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
So far-the only problem I have is the BATTERY and CHARGER. It is like the old type NiCd type. You have to watch while charging to avoid overcharge. This is shame!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good for the moneySeptember 24, 2009
by Huggy Bear from Rotonda West FL.
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Very happy with this computer overall The sound could be a little better as at 100% volume it is hard to hear, and ithink it could use a larger battery but I still get about 2 1/2 hrs. from a full charge
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good Performance at Good ValueSeptember 24, 2009
by Jack from Earlysville VA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Has the power to run demanding applications (GIS and large databases) at a reasonable price. Screen quality is high and I love the keyboard, good feel and a numeric keypad too!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Just my opinion after buying one of these laptops.September 16, 2009
by Slightly disapointed from San Antonio Tx
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This is a good laptop except for a few short falls, if they were options it would be fantastic. The First weakness is the dedicated video. (wish they made it an option to upgrade to the ATI on this model) The second VERY weak point is the speakers on this laptop are not very clear sound, and do not go very loud at all. (is an acceptable problem though, as they make external speakers, it is the speakers not the sound card.). The third short fall is that Toshiba choose to add labelflash to this laptop, over the lightscribe technology. (labelflash limits the color and is far more expensive to use, I truly wish they would offer a lightscribe drive or bezel for this model, so I could change it out) This model does have some strong points though, that make it worthy of consideration. It has very little 3rd party trialware, and proprietory software preloaded. (so there is not allot of useless software pre loaded, that most people end up removing) I really like the fact that the touchpad is flush, so that it does not self drive with dust/dirt like allot of other models. The display is great, (too bad it cannot be used to it's potential due to the video card shortfall) They should have offered the ATI as an option. The full sized keyboard with the 9key is very comfortable, and easier to use then most laptops. (wish they offered the backlight option that are available on some other models though) The touchpad is located so that if you are comfortable typing with a desktop keybord it is totally out of the way, and you can type comfortably without ever moving the cursor. Probbaly the most important plus side of this laptop is that it breaths well, and with the processor it contains it seems to run much cooler then allot of other models I have used. With the configuration packaged in this laptop it multitasks well, and is pretty fast in all area's, except for the video in video demanding games, or high rendering video software. As a result, I would have to reccomend this laptop for buisness applications. (that seems odd to me, since most wide screen laptops perfom better in entertainment, then buisness applications) If you are looking for an entertainment based laptop, I think you will soon regret this choice, do to the short falls listed above. Over all it is a decent laptop, as long as you are not a gamer, and keep your desktop. Just wish that I had more options, to upgrade features of this laptop. Hope this helps you, in your decision.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
September 14, 2009
by fightup
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Overall good product, Excellent value
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
I love my laptopAugust 29, 2009
by Chuck from San Diego
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I got a good deal from my local office supply store. The laptop was east to setup and works very well. I am very plased with the value I've received. The battery life could be better, but overall I am very pleased.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good DealAugust 28, 2009
by Stampgirl
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I like the look and the performance of it, but I was disappointed with a few things. The built in camera isn't the best quality. Images are sometimes fuzzy and there are not many "effects" Also the speakers are not the best laptop speakers I have had on a Toshiba. If you want a business computer, it is great! If you are using more for music or keeping in touch with friends/family, you might be happier with something else.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
The best Laptop os farSeptember 24, 2009
by Snowwhite
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I've had a Gateway and a Toshiba and I really like the Toshiba. I'm trying to become a Tabulater for USA Roller Sports and the Laptop I bought would be perfect....
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great LaptopAugust 16, 2009
by camerajock
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I wrok as a photographer and use to spend a lot of time after hours at the studio doning computer work. I had another brand of laptop that did not perform well with the Photoshop programs, and was generally slow. Having this laptop I now can accomplish some of my work at home in a short period of time.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Excellent ValueAugust 15, 2009
by Yappster from Winder, GA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I really like my laptop. The only complaint - if I have one - would be that the mouse gets very loose playing games. But even with that, I'm still very happy with my computer.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Powerful for a LaptopAugust 14, 2009
by WVU Engineer from Morgantown, WV
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is a great laptop. One of the more powerful laptops I have ever used. Not compact by any means but power is sometimes more important than size.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
This LaptopAugust 14, 2009
by MattE from Las Vegas, NV
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
The computer had a good price but i have to say that the proformance if the computer varies.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good valueAugust 14, 2009
by MRB from Carlsbad, CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
At a reasonable price, this laptop has plenty of memory, a wide screen, and a comfortable keyboard. The fan seems to be effective at keeping it cool; overheating is what killed my last laptop (frying the motherboard)
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
getting aroundAugust 14, 2009
by Woody from santa rosa, ca
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
getting around in google is very frustrating for me. I am so used to my old aol that the format on the toshiba is real hard to get used to.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Mediocre Lap TopSeptember 24, 2009
by drhrb from Boynton Beach, FL
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Even Largest print is too small. When printing E-mail print is too small. It is too complicated to change fonts and styles
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
DisappointedSeptember 24, 2009
by Disappointed
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I thought this would be an upgrade -- and it was for one month. Then it failed and had to go for repairs.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Good laptopOctober 5, 2009
by Merrie from Nashville, TN
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I have had several Toshiba Satellite laptops. The last one was overheating, so I bought this one. The feature that sold me on this one is the number pad. So far no problems.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
PROS = YES -- CONS = MORE!August 27, 2009
by toshiba fan from nc
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
If this will be used with the keyboard then better make another choice. The touchpad is so sensitive and keyboard set so that it's impossible to type without having the mouse float all over and make nonsense of all sentences! I had to return and eat the loss! very disappointed.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Laptop Crashed after 20 days of purchaseSeptember 28, 2009
by hottodd8
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
I bought a toshiba L500 series satellite laptop and 20 days later it crashed for no reason, I was checking email and it suddenly went down giving me a message BOOTMGR IMAGE CORRUPT. it would not respond to any commands, would not go into safe mode or anything, I am having to send it back. a brand new laptop and it crashed in 20 days? Not Good! Very Dissatisfied customer with toshiba
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Customer Rating Summary
Satellite L505-S6959
Averages based on 83 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 4.4 out of 5
Features: 4.3 out of 5
Performance: 4.3 out of 5
Battery Life: 3.6 out of 5
Price–Value: 4.4 out of 5
78 of 83 (93%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.