Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
PERFECTNovember 1, 2009
by vinnievin from wayne nj
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
fantastic productould def buy another and will tell everyine to buy
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Super LaptopNovember 2, 2009
by Steam Roller from Atlanta, GA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I previously owned a Toshiba LPtop However, as good as it was this one is so much better. Excellent design. Beautiful machine
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Amazing LaptopNovember 2, 2009
by eman from San Fernando, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
i bought this laptop about a month ago. it is really fast, does not get hot at the bottom, great web camera, speakers are ok, love the media card insert, and internet connect REALLY fast.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
LOVENovember 10, 2009
by Tara from Seneca,SC
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I LOVE THIS LAPTOP. ITS FAST ITS LIGHT WEIGHT. AND ITS JUST A CHEAPER VERSION OF MAC BOOK. THIS IS THE BEST COMPUTER EVER. ITS GREAT FOR SCOOL TO BC IM ONLINE HOME SCHOOLED THIS YEAR AND THIS IS MAKEINMY YEAR EVEN BETTER!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Love my new laptopNovember 3, 2009
by simplyme1109 from Orlando FL
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I love my new laptop. It has everything I need, great speed, wonderful wide screen and large key board buttons that makes spending long hours on the laptop easier. The price was an even better deal. I love it so much I am thinking of buying one for my daughter for Christmas!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Very Good ProductDecember 4, 2009
by CRyanGo from Santa Maria, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have had this laptop for a little over a month and I am very impressed. This computer is fast, with plenty of RAM and Storage for all of my needs. I have 2 small minor complaints; 1 the trackpad isn't as good as some of the other machines I looked at and 2 this laptop really shows up fingerprints.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Outstanding LaptopDecember 23, 2009
by jkf from colorado
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I've had the S5990 for 1 month. Very technically sound machine - fast and excellent Wi-FI connectivity. I am very happy with this laptop, was going to get an HP but this machine has way more bang for the buck.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great laptop!December 27, 2009
by cellogirl from Alabama
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought this laptop mid-October, 2009. My only complaint is the speaker volume isn't very loud. I have been able to upload Office 2007, and it took next to no time and works great with Windows 7. The internet connection is SO quick and easy. Tons of storage space on the laptop itself, is compatible with the WD external harddrives...great for student, great for travel (not all that heavy compared to older laptops that I have had to travel with), webcam and microphone work great, works well with Skype.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
It's perfect!!January 21, 2010
by Miss L from Lancaster, PA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I received the L505-S5990 laptop for Christmas this year. I am absolutely thrilled with the performance of this laptop. The keyboard is wonderful - full size, it is extremely fast and completely portable. Thanks, Toshiba - I love it!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
GreatFebruary 14, 2010
by mmhilzy from Pittsburgh, PA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
i had this laptop since christams 2009 and its feb 2010 and i havent had to pull out the battery or anything!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
I love it!!January 31, 2010
by Financial person
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is my first Toshiba. I like it so much I recommended it to a friend and he bought two. Great product for the money!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
My Awesome LaptopJanuary 29, 2010
by Jen from Glen Burnie Maryland
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my laptop. I had and hp before this one. I like my Toshiba alot better.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent laptopJanuary 28, 2010
by Luvit from Denver, CO
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I got this laptop as a Christmas gift this year and it's been excellent. Easy to use and Windows 7 is great! Love it. Watched a movie on it in HD and was better than on my HD TV. Great laptop.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
My ToshibaJanuary 26, 2010
by Gene from Belton, Missouri
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
One of the very best and what makes it easy is if you have question help is right there or contact the Customer Help line.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
great machineJanuary 26, 2010
by jp from marlboro,new jersey
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
2nd Toshiba !!!!January 25, 2010
by mlkmn from Parma, Ohio
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is my second Toshiba laptop. I bought my first in 2000 and it is still in action as a backup. With the satisfaction of my first, I will only buy Toshiba again. Thank you for building such a great item !!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
January 22, 2010
by cobra from Snow Hill, Md
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
My wife bought a toshiba about eight months ago it has been trouble free thats why i bought a toshiba
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Happy to own itJanuary 22, 2010
by Werner from Miami Beach, Fl
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Light weight, easy to wok with, nice sound and video qualities
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Good Laptop, this is my second ThoshibaJanuary 22, 2010
by Juan from St. Louis, MO.
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
We like the computer very much, works well, and does what I need. Problem is with astetics (looks). The finished is so smooth that finger prints are a problem, makes it look dirty. Reccommend a mate type finish for future products. Also Micrsoft asks for a key when accessing micrsoft work. I received weekly information from work in the old Excel format. If I could have a key number would be nice. Or ;least know how to obtain one.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
No Internet for some of usNovember 2, 2009
by CE from Oroville CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Nice Machine UNLESS you live in a very rural area with no broadband available (due to forest area) There is NO Dial Up Modem in this machine, therefore, if you live in an area where all you can have is dial up, you're stuck, unless you can find some way to hook up an External Modem.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
very good ChoiceNovember 29, 2009
by Mr_man132000 from Tripoli, LY
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Comparing with the price, I can say that it’s a good choice for home use
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
A good buy.December 2, 2009
by Mike
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This laptop is very fast and portable. My only complaint is that it scratches and smudges very easily.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
January 25, 2010
by Manda from central valley, california
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Overall this Laptop contains all the features which are useful to me. It's easy to navigate through the features. I was interested in using it more-so for my photography..I found that it's easy to upload pictures but does not contain a program in which I can edit them..
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
great laptop very weak speakersMarch 1, 2010
by blue03r6 from ohio
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
not a computer to use for any sounds. to even hear it you have to hold it up to your ear with all volumes turne up to the max. quietest laptop I've ever heard.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
January 27, 2010
by nellie from Texas
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Toshiba was recommended after taking back my Gateway I got for x-mas. I have enjoyed it very much. It has everything I need on a computer. So far I have not had any problems and do not anticipate any.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great laptop!January 26, 2010
by lovelee from Miami, FL
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I am a college student and I purchased my (first) TOSHIBA laptop about a month ago. Apart from it's sleek design, it's very functional and it works great for me. I love that the keyboard comes with the number pad, and the interior is all black. The battery life is good (thus far) for the most I get 3 hrs when it's not charging. The only downsides are; the speakers aren't that loud, and the fingerprints marks - but that's minor. Overall, it works well for me & I absolutely love it.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
A great media center laptopJanuary 26, 2010
by HotHambo from Dillsburg, PA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
The Toshiba Satellite L505-S5990 is a great product. It's sleek design will get your attention and its dual core processing will keep you hooked. Easy Wi-FI connection is included and the screen is nice and large, for watching a movie without straining. A 200+GB hard drive will keep you from running out of space anytime soon and with Windows 7 as the OS, you'll be up to date in the ever-changing computer world. My only gripe is only having two USB ports.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
soundJanuary 25, 2010
by bobcat from Athens Ga
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
you can't get the up I have as high will go and it is still low
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Overall nice MachineJanuary 24, 2010
by Bert from St. Cloud, Mn.
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Very pleased overall, with the exception of the speakers, and, the location of the ubs slots. If you use a wired mouse and a broadband card, they are to close.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great valueJanuary 22, 2010
by Dido from Billtown, PA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
It works acceptably for everything I wish to do at this time - I am a first time owner of a laptop so I am still learning the variables.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great value but poor speakersDecember 25, 2009
by Phil from NY, NY
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Nice size screen. I especially like the tactile feel of the touch pad, the grooves allow greater precision when moving the cursor, compared to conventional touch pads. Only con is the Speakers, way too low volume, you will definitely need to purchase external speakers.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
The 10 key is great.January 21, 2010
by Milehighboater from Denver Colorado
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I write many papers requiring the input of many numbers. I used a standard keyboard on past laptops for years, the 10 key makes input much faster. The design is user friendly and functional. The full size keyboard makes long papers much easier to write. This is the only laptop I have owned I am comfortable replacing my desktop with.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Somthing MissingJanuary 2, 2010
by Albarqi from KSA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I think it is a great Laptop but there is important thing missing in this product which is Blutooth technology I do not know why?????
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
great valueDecember 7, 2009
by pecas from Downey
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Very fast, can't beat the price for this entry level laptop. my only complaints are the weight, and the speakers. my 8 year old laptop has better speakers than this one.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
An average laptop at reasonable priceNovember 18, 2009
by Meh
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This is a good value for money type laptop for basic home usage. The only disapointment is very low sound level of speakers, no phone modem, no bluetooth, no infrared and 32 bit windows-7 instead of 64 bt.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
UnhappyMarch 5, 2010
by mel
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
I received this laptop for christmas and have had nothing but problems. The laptop will run for ten minutes before it freezes up .
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?  

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Not Happy!January 28, 2010
by none from Naples, FL
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
First, I did not realize that the finish would retain fingerprints as it does. Next, it has been very slow in loading, I specifically went to a 3gb & 320gb because I thought it would load quickly. I have been very limited in the number of programs that I can have uploaded at one time. Usually I work in and out of 4 screens at once. With this Toshiba I am forced to close down programs and re-up in order to get it to work. I must admit I am not a technoid so that I must learn as I go, however, this Toshiba product does not allow me to do even those things that I have been doing on a regular basis on other computers. I am disgusted.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Customer Rating Summary
Satellite L505-S5990
Averages based on 37 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 4.4 out of 5
Features: 4.2 out of 5
Performance: 4.5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3.9 out of 5
Price–Value: 4.4 out of 5
33 of 37 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.