Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great laptop valueJanuary 20, 2010
by dakota from Canby.OR
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Fast, easy to use, great color, nice speakers a really good value.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great laptop but I hate Windows 7January 21, 2010
by yarnmarm from Libby, MT
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
My beloved husband gave me this laptop as a Christmas present last December. While I love the computer I am very disenchanted with Windows 7. Unless I am prepared to put more $ out I cannot install any of the programs I have in my old PC, up to and including my HP Photosmart printer. I realize there are upgrades I can purchase but living in a very isolated area of Montana does not provide a lot options for me,also I don't appreciate the fact I am forced to buy more program(s). I own a small business in our town and I don't have the time to try and figure out what works and what doesn't. Any suggestions?
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great LaptopMarch 2, 2010
by Undae from Vamcouver, WA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
LOVE THE SPEAKERS!! Amazing, the entire computer as a whole is pretty cool, I like the fact that I can talk to it to tell it what to do HAH! Even though you need a headset for it to be able to hear you clearly. The only issue I have with it, is the web cam. It doesn't have that great of picture, if it had a good web cam then I'd love it!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Love my new toshiba laptopFebruary 1, 2010
by Fred from Meridian, Idaho
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
The Toshiba A505 laptop is wonderful for my purpose of writing, graphics creation, media listening and viewing. It is a great replacement for a desktop with the included numeric keypad. It has been so long since I use a desktop to input numbers because of doing most of my work on a laptop that I was delighted to find a laptop that had the keypad. I would like to see more USB ports on a laptop (the A505 had 3 plus a combo port). I would recommend this computer to anyone. The screen is large enough to enable me to view my documents 2-up (2 pages at a time, side-by-side). The Harmon/Kardon sound is a please to listen to. Once I upgraded to Windows 7 Pro and the extended life battery, all other negatives went away.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
great laptopJanuary 28, 2010
by coach from Charleston,SC
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
great laptop, great grafics easy to use, quick.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
March 15, 2010
by Pepscandohombre
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Had to do a resore as with every new computer this year but other than that seems to work. Think the confusion in the interface between the operator and the software. By the way, if you don't want Norton, do you know you have to leave yourself vulnerable in order to install another security software? And uninstalling Norton is way over complicated.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
gumby's reviewJanuary 28, 2010
by gumby from battle ground, wa
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I've had this laptop for about month and have been very pleased. Performance is good and everthing has worked like charm. Overall, I would rate it as an excellent product for the price.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good ProductMarch 7, 2010
by Trip from Plano, Tx
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This is my second Toshiba laptop. The first one was an excellent product, and this one appears to be as good or better.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great and solid LaptopFebruary 18, 2010
by Louie from Puyallup, WA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Very happy with the performance. Solid feel and great screen. Solid feel to the keys and the case. Better than my work laptop not made by Toshiba. 2 year warranty made longer with the right credit card purchase.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Customer Rating Summary
Satellite A505-S6983
Averages based on 9 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 4.4 out of 5
Features: 4.1 out of 5
Performance: 4.2 out of 5
Battery Life: 3.1 out of 5
Price–Value: 3.9 out of 5
9 of 9 (100%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.