Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
It works..April 21, 2013
by MichaelR1951 from Iowa
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Elderly person needed something that played VHS tapes and the Toshiba unit did the job. I saw the one review where they dinged the unit because the DVD quit playing ... what did you expect - DVD players are cheap and it's a dying format. This unit did a good job. If you have a thousand VHS tapes and need something to play them on --- this works!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Toshiba dvd/vcr combo, televisionAugust 29, 2013
by Dee from Louisville,ky
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have or have had the above 2 items and they both worked perfectly, I still use by television and just recently my dvd/vcr combo went out and I am getting ready to order a new one. I also have a blue-ray player by Toshiba. So to me Toshiba is there when you need it and others just don't even get it. Dee
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
unit works - remote does notJuly 19, 2014
by alison from covington, LA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
the unit worked but the remote is horrible. have to stand on the buttons to make anything work. usually give up and go to the main unit to push play.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
DisappointedNovember 15, 2011
by Eddie from Atlanta, GA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I had a Toshiba DVD VCR combo player that was damaged so I expected this Toshiba to be of similar quality but was terribly disappointed. The picture quality, the ease of use, the functions, everything was disappointing
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
DisappointedMay 28, 2012
by ABC from Philadelphia PA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
My SD-V296KU stopped playing DVDs about 2 years after I bought it. Manual was useless for trouble shooting. I had to junk it and go looking for a better product - NOT a Toshiba.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Poor productOctober 22, 2013
by hsofcats from Oregon
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
VCR constantly kicks out tapes for no reason. Blurred picture every time the tape is forwarded or rewound. Picture is blurry, machine shuts off and kicks out the tape I did go out and purchase new tapes to be sure that old tapes. Didn't improve at all. Very loud noises when ever tape stops.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
worst dvd/vcr comboAugust 9, 2014
by don juan from Norfolk, Va.
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The first sd v296 I got lasted a day ate a tape, sent back., The next brand new unit i had less than a week the dvd side froze in reverse., remote would'nt solve the problem. I unpluged it ,opened up the dvd tray EMPTY, very weird, I've used & was an audio tech for years, never seen that before!!!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Never Buy AgainMarch 7, 2014
by Unhappy from NJ
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Bought about 2 months ago - eats VHS tapes - clock quit and can't reset - connected to new tv won't play VHS tapes. Set to VCR but plays DVD
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Stopped working in less than a monthJuly 16, 2013
by Emma from Rockland County, NY
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This thing simply would not stay on. It swallowed a VHS tape and then turned off and wouldn't turn back on, ever, no matter what I did. It worked for less than a month.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
worst everJune 4, 2013
by Amanda
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Wow I can't even put "6ad" in here because it's "inappropriate" Worked for less than a year and then the DVD player quit working. I don't care if you say that DVD players aren't the best or you should expect that. You should NOT expect a DVD player to quit working before a few years. I've gotten 9 years out of a DVD player used everyday. So that's a terrible excuse. Picture quality wasn't great either for the price.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Dreadful DVD Disk PlayerJuly 28, 2012
by Clever from Framingham, MA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have several dvd/vcr players and other dvd playing machines. Perfectly good disks that work in other machines stop playing or cannot be loaded to play in this machine SD-V296. Manual does not provide any help for this problem.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Averages based on 11 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 2.0 out of 5
Features: 0.0 out of 5
Performance: 0.0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0.0 out of 5
1 of 11 (9%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.